top of page

Just Truth on Christmas Day


This is not a Christmas story- or a feel good post about life.

This is a moment of time- in my faith-that expresses my love for God this day.

You may choose to read this or simply pass it by, its up to you. But if you choose to read this, I ask that you would say a simple prayer for those that need God's love today.. Thanks and God Bless.. Rev. Lily.

I look out the door of our home, and like any other Christmas before- It's wet, and kinda gloomy looking.

After all, here in Indiana, the weather is unpredictable.

But there is something I notice on this day, a difference that I cant find the words to explain but my spirit understands.

I think about Christmas times in the past.. When I grew up- my parents- though I'm sure they struggled to feed and clothe us all, never let us feel like we were anything but blessed... Growing up in a home of foster kids coming and going- puts a different focus on the holidays. Some would leave to visit their families, some would stay. Looking back on the holidays I thought we were so rich. We had Christmas parties to go to- led by local charities, church to keep us focused, skating parties at the local rink to keep us busy, and a ton of presents that I now know- must have come from the salvation army or some place supporting needy kids in our community, we had vouchers for cheese and peanut butter , and I would shop and the dented can store with dad. Those cans with no labels but were only 5 cents so Surprise!

But the best feeling we ever had from growing up- was that each one of us had the love of a (foster)parent who thought we were worth the time and that we were lovable -and special in our won way- giving us a sense of belonging in a world where we felt rejected by our own families.

I am so thankful to have been adopted by such loving people.

This year.. I guess as I get older.. hindsight is staring right at me.

Somehow there is a different sense , and reality beyond my own understanding.

A feeling- that this year- Christmas is not a passing season of Hope- but a continuation of faith and a time for hope and renewal waiting for Christ to return..

This Christmas unlike others- means more to me now- as I am daily driven by the relationship I have found in my eternal King, and the relationships restored with family that time and distance had taken for many years.

I think there is a time in each one of our lives where we can just stop and know that along the way- God had a plan. And He still has A plan for my life. He let me know love. To know care. To have food ,and clothing, a safe home and all the blessings He provides...and He shows me such love in providing so that I can share the gift of love - with others along this journey.

For the first time in a very long time- I don't need the satisfaction of gifts. Status in the world means nothing to me.. Being right before God- means EVERYTHING.

My gift is right here. Jesus. Salvation. His Living Word. His Holy Spirit living within me..

For the first time- I have a new focus- and though I thought my old focus was good- somehow- there is more. so much more to this Christmas.. My Calling... God's Calling on my heart-Has opened my eyes to the needs around me, and has opened my heart to yearn for and know deeply- His word- and that I must share His word with others.

I am Seeing the world through different lenses , and I share my heart with you about this- because there is so much more to life than what we think we see.. The gift is for you . Through the loving power of our Peacemaker- Our Lord and Savior- who appeased Gods anger against our sins- so we can walk daily in relationship in His Love... For me- To live is Christ- and to die- is gain. He is here with me- live or die. And that's a good place to be.

If you- are in a place- of not really knowing what to believe, or you think that God could not possibly love someone like you- I have this to say......( If he can love someone like me- He can surely love you.)

God loves you...He accepts you right where you are.... and He has a plan for your life too..

It starts with realizing we need our Savior to save us from our sinful ways - and that begins with prayer.

Wont you ask the Lord into your heart this Christmas? Find our for yourself the Love He has to give. And Go to church! It is where God's children go to learn and do life together.. And yes- come to our home on Sundays at 2 and church with us.. you are welcome here.

Well, if you made it to the end of my post, thank you for listening, and May God bless you and yours this Christmas day. Love and Peace always.. Lily.


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page